Skip to content

Quick Results for ''

Communications: Citizens Leadership Academy

Contact Gretchen Pearsall, Director of Strategic Communications, at (309) 672-6918

Citizens Leadership Academy is an annual program held each fall in conjunction with the City of Peoria. Participants will tour City and County facilities and talk with elected and appointed officials. Our airm is to help citizens understand how their local governments work and the resources they offer.

Each session takes place at either a County of Peoria or City of Peoria building and usually involves a talk, tour and time for questions and answers. Some sessions also provide refreshments.

 

2017 Fall Peoria City/County Citizens' Leadership Academy 

The fall class is limited to 25 adult participants, preferably living in Peoria County. The class is taught in conjunction with the City of Peoria. Every-other session will focus on a municipal (city) function with the opposite sessions focusing on a county function. Graduation ceremonies are held at Peoria County Board and Peoria City Council meetings.

2017 CLA Application (click to download)

2017 Dates and Topics (click to download)

Please note, class topics may change. All changes will be communicated via email before the start date.

Tuesday, September 12 - Peoria County Overview

Thursday, September 14 - City of Peoria Overview

Tuesday, September 19 - Peoria County Jail Tour and Dinner

Thursday, September 21 - Tour of Peoria Police Department and Emergency Communications Center

Tuesday, September 26 - Public Works Tour

Thursday, September 28 - Morgue Tour

Tuesday, October 3 - Peoria Fire Department Tour

Thursday, October 5 - Animal Shelter Tour

Tuesday, October 10 Graduation at Peoria City Council Meeting

Thursday, October 12 Graduation at Peoria County Board Meeting

Local Weather

Temp
Rel Hum
Condition
Wind
61602