News Flash


Posted on: March 6, 2019

Peoria County Board Chairman Accepting District 17 Board Member Applications

Peoria County Board Chairman Andrew A. Rand invites interested individuals to apply for the vacant County Board District 17 seat. The appointed individual will serve until December 2020.

Thomas O’Neill III, the current seat holder and current Vice Chairman of the Peoria County Board, has decided to retire. He was first elected in 1993. O’Neill was also elected by his fellow board members to serve as Board Chairman for three terms, from 2008-2014.

“Mr. O’Neill has been quite a force on the Peoria County Board for the last 26 years,” says Chairman Rand. “He took a keen interest in transportation issues in particular, providing direction on Highway Department projects, serving on the Peoria-Pekin Urban Area Transportation Study Policy Committee, and fostering collaboration between the City of Peoria Public Works and Peoria County Highway Departments.”

Per statute, the Chairman, with the consent of the County Board, has 60 days to fill the vacant position. The seat must be filled by May 13, 2019. Also, per statue, O’Neill’s replacement must be a Democrat, having voted Democrat in the most recent primary election in which he or she voted, and must reside within the boundaries of District 17.

District 17 covers most of the Village of Bartonville and portions of Limestone Township and West Peoria Township. A detailed map is attached.

Applications are being accepted through 5:00 p.m. on March 20, 2019. Interested parties should submit a resume, references, and a County Board Appointment Application found at to the attention of Chairman Andrew Rand, Peoria County Courthouse, 324 Main Street, Room 502, Peoria, IL 61602.

Facebook Twitter Email